Holidays & Ahas

Standard

I’m the kind of gal that loves “The Holidays.” No, I’m not referring to an indie rock band you probably haven’t heard of, but the time of year between the Wednesday before Thanksgiving up until New Years Day.

It gives me a sense of comfort and joy. I love the cold weather and the emails about sales every other day in my inbox. The fact that everyone just accepts that they are probably going to gain at least 5lbs. I especially love the music. This year I started listening to Christmas music almost immediately after Halloween. I paced myself though, by only allowing myself to listen to an hour of the Michael Buble Christmas station on Pandora. (Which you should probably add to your Pandora stations if you haven’t already.)

 

This holiday season I will probably listen to these albums over and over and of course many more not shown. My Pandora stations will range from jazzy-holiday mixes to pop versions of Santa Baby and with every song my soul with glow with Christmas cheer.

image

On Black Friday I partook in the shopping festivities however unlike last year I actually slept until 8am, rolled out of bed and then went shopping. I wasn’t about to jump head first into the craziness alone two years in a row. I’ll wait until next year when hopefully I have a shopping buddy to go with me. Once shopping was over I busted out the good ‘ole Christmas box, dusted it off and began to decorate our humble little home, while listening to Christmas music. Duh. I remembered that the following weekend I had opened a bottle of my favorite wine and didn’t want it to go to waste. So, I had a glass. Or two. Or three.

image

 

Justine and I went out and snagged a pretty cute tree and I dressed it up in our Christmas best. Zoey thinks it’s the most amazing thing she’s ever seen because unlike the last few years we didn’t put it up on a side table so the dogs can’t get to it. Instead this year we placed it on the floor and so far so good. We still have a month until Christmas so believe me I’ll be watching those bad pups like a holiday hawk.

image

 

Enough with the holidays already, let’s move on to the aha moments I had this weekend. On Saturday evening Justine and I headed over to our close friends, Adam & Laura’s new house. We ate, drank and played board games. As the night progressed we were tipsy and dancing and talking about life. Even while being fairly intoxicated I had an “aha! moment.” I realized a lot about how I’ve been living my life in beast mode. Head down, moving full force forward not taking time to actually enjoy being in my twenties.

My teenage years were a blur because all I wanted to do was get out of high school, get out of college, and be an adult. Well here I am. I’m an adult and what have I been doing? Trying to conquer every major life event so that I can feel accomplished and successful. But, I haven’t taken a moment to step back and think about how far I have come and reflect on what I have accomplished.

 

(Source)

Being 24 years old, I’ve already done so much and I have a lot to be thankful for and proud of. I need to slow my roll and enjoy the little things.

I’m thankful for everything I have and for all of you.

Cheers,
EA

Leave a Reply

