So You Failed Kid, Now What?

Standard

Hello. My name is Erika and I’m a failure. In so many ways I’m coming to accept this statement. What did I fail at you ask? Oh just my campaign to raise funds via “Crowd Sourcing” or “Crowd Funding” whichever you choose. Basically, a little over 50 days ago I set up a campaign through IndieGogo.com to raise enough money to start a business. At first I was determined to have a mobile boutique, but unfortunately thanks to local and state regulations I was given a no-go on permits and licenses until further notice.

I quickly bounced back from that minor setback and decided that I would go all in, I mean really go big or go home, and change-up the campaign to fund my ultimate dream of owning my own bakery and having it be mobile at that! Genius! Ideas were flowing through my mind like butter through the nooks and crannies of a waffle being absorbed and turning something good into something great.

I was unstoppable. Well kind of, road blocks started popping up but I didn’t let them stop me. I kept on persisting, plugging away telling everyone and everything in my immediate path about my campaign. I reached out to a local mobile food truck and they allowed me to tag along one evening to give away cupcakes and fliers.

I crashed another local food gathering to hand out fliers. I left them on tables and even with a few vendors. I was on a mission to succeed. For a long time I thought I would. I believed 110% that I would get funded and be able to make my business a full-time job. The song “Eye of the Tiger” played in my mind 24/7 and I’m sure that if there was a set of particularly high stairs I would jog up them and triumphantly pump my fists into the air while jumping.

About two weeks into the campaign I was 1% funded and things came to a screeching halt. No more donations were coming in. I thought it was a lull. I kept on promoting and giving away freebies. I talked everyone’s ear off about my business and campaign. Still nothing. I even reached out to a local radio station that has a very funny and helpful morning show. They denied me any assistance and I went on my merry way.

I thought it was a rough patch and I would get through it. As time went on and still no donations were coming in I made a last-ditch attempt to getting funded and began seeking loans from small business associations and banks. Nope. Dry as the Mohave Desert.

As my deadline approached I came to accept that regardless of how hard I tried I wasn’t getting any farther and with that I laid my head in shame and took my lashings of failure. Now, don’t think I’m bitter or giving up in any way. Not at all. In fact I am taking the donations that were provided by my truly amazing supporters and putting it towards the Beast Bakery regardless.

I am rethinking and re-evaluating my initial plan and coming next week I will be announcing my Beast Bakery 2.0 plan. Plan B if you will.

I’m just as excited and eager to get this show on the road. Someday I will have my mobile bakery. You will see me rolling down the streets of Sacramento selling cookies and various baked goods.

Until then I want to thank my true supporters: Jayme Burnside, Sam Barnes, Kelly Dunham, Douglas Craig, and my mom and dad for donating to the Beast Bakery. Your perks will be in the mail shortly!

Cheers,
EA

3 thoughts on “So You Failed Kid, Now What?

    • Oh I am most definitely not giving up. Just putting things into perspective and re-evaluating my original business plan. I have looked into investors but we’ll see what comes of that. For the mobile bakery initially I needed $30k to get started but C’est la vie.

Leave a Reply

