Field Trip Friday – Sacramento Piñata Festival

Standard

Earlier in the month I was invited to the the 3rd annual Piñata Festival at the Southside Park here in Sacramento by a lovely craft-friend, Rain Garcia of Rain’s Embellishments . I attended the event last Saturday, June 16th and took in the vibrant colors of piñatas hanging from booths and trees all around. Being from Hispanic descent and loving art as much as I do, the colors, festival sounds and friendly faces encompassing the park was captivating.

I started my journey through the festival by watching the Maquilli Tonatiuh Aztec Dancers that began the celebration. I stood under a large shaded tree next to families with small children and observed the little faces next to me light up with excitement as they heard the shell horn blow and watch the dancers girate to the chants of fellow performers.


After the dance performance I made my way around the booths. I stopped briefly at a few vendor booths; Chulo Baby had an adorable booth. Their onesies and various accessories with spanish phrases were too cute to pass up.


I met an elderly gentleman that only spoke Spanish, unfortunately my Spanish speaking skills are rusty. However, I did understand that he has been making piñatas since he was a child. All of the introcate and bright piñatas were handmade by him. He is a genuine artist and you can tell by looking at his artwork that he knows his craft in every way.


Another artist I came across was John S. Huerta.  He had some amazingly creative pieces of artwork displayed at his booth. I love the juxtoposition in his artwork of sugar skull design and dias de los muertos art. I especially enjoyed his Lady Gaga piece.


Lastly, I headed over to Rain’s booth and chit-chatted a bit with her about the amazing event. It was full of lively and fun piñatas and happy patrons enjoying the latin celebration. It was comforting to be around similiar ethnicities that were proud of their heritage and wanted to show off their creative works to others. I loved seeing Rain’s new jewlery pieces. She does fantastic work and I thank her for inviting me to such a wonderful gathering of food, fun and craftiness.


Cheers,
EA

Leave a Reply

