Learning to Live

Standard

Justine and I have been engaged for a little under four months now and since she popped the question I’ve been thinking a lot about my life. I love Justine with all my heart and she supports me in everything I do, what more can a girl ask for? I can and I have asked more of myself.

At the beginning of the year I promised myself that I would be a better version of myself. A stronger and more dedicated Erika. To be completely honest I failed pretty hard the first two months, and it wasn’t until after my 24th birthday I really started cracking down on my bad habits and negative thinking.

Starting in the beginning of February I began wearing makeup every day. Some of you ladies may think that this is a silly feat to master but for me it was a large task because it required effort. I had fallen into such a lazy slump that even waking up a a half hour earlier to do my hair and makeup was too much of a hassle. I forced myself and now it seems like second nature putting on my “face” before I head to out.

I stopped biting my nails. It helped that I got my nails done professionally for about two months in a row. However, I will admit that once I took them off I have whittled my long nails back down to nubs but I will continue to persevere. I will not give up on the goal of having average length nails.

At the beginning of April I started to eat healthier and with the exception of last week I did fairly well. I have been using the MyFitnessPal app for my phone and iPad and I am proud to announce that even with a minor hiccup I have lost 7 lbs. I want to get down to a size 12 or 14. I have a ways to go but I’m making progress.

I have also joined Mary Kay and have been trying to earn some extra money for the wedding. I enjoy the meetings and meeting new people but I may have made a mistake by spreading myself too thin and I am slightly regretting joining. I would love to pursue Mary Kay full time but until the wedding planning is over and I might have to continue it part time only.

In general things are going pretty smoothly around these parts. Sure we could use some extra money and it doesn’t help that I’m going to be working part time in June and going back to school this July but I’m trying to teach myself to slow down and do live life day by day. It’s difficult but I’m only cheating myself out of memories and experiences I have only been rushing by to get to the next time marker.

I can’t help but think of the old sitcom Step-By-Step’s intro music. “Step by step, day by day…”
I’m such a 90’s kid, ah I digress. I am back on the bandwagon and holding myself accountable for all of my actions.

 

The only option is to to succeed.

Cheers,
EA

2 thoughts on “Learning to Live

Leave a Reply

