Still Here & a Brand New Year

Standard

I’m still alive. It’s almost the end of my 23rd year. There are only 2 months left to be exact. It’s a brand new year and I’m feeling extremely optimistic about 2012.

2011 was fairly uneventful for the most part. Justine and I spent the first half settling into our new home and learning the joys and pains of being homeowners. Since we only live about 5 minutes away from work we worked, a lot. An average person works 42 hours a week. Between Justine and I we probably average 49-52 hours a week. We worked 6 days every week for several months and it took a real toll on us. On our home, our families, our friends, and our pups. I got to the point where I was just plain depressed and nasty to everyone. I hated my existence and loathed my job.

Towards the end of the year things started looking up. I’ve had a few interviews for new jobs, learned to separate my work life from my home life and got my weekends off again (for the most part). In the last month of 2011 things started to get even better. Our financial situation has finally turned around and instead of being anxious about making payments I am now a little less preoccupied by our budget. We were able to buy our families nice, thoughtful and more expensive gifts than we have been able to afford in the past. Lastly, Justine proposed. More on that later.

When 2011 was over I felt relieved but also rejoiced in the fact that things are finally beginning to go my way. I know that 2012 will be full of memories that will last a lifetime but also full of new adventure and good times.

I can’t wait.

Cheers,

EA

Leave a Reply

