I have a secret… and a Confession

Standard

I can’t tell you just yet. I can’t even give you a hint and it’s tearing me apart. I’ve been away from the blog because I’ve been planning big things. I’ve been working on side projects and trying to figure out a few things about who I want to be and what I want to do in life.

What I can tell you is that I’ve gone back and forth and changed my mind about a hundred or so times. I feel as if I’m in this transition period with so many roads ahead of me it’s difficult to choose which one will fit me best. Do I open a sandwich shop and go back to manual labor in the food industry? Do I go back to school? Do I stay where I’m at and slowly implode day after day becoming a poor sad husk of a person?

So many choices… But, finally a conclusion has arrived and although it may be a step in the opposite direction of what I have been working towards I have chosen to go back to school. I’m going to take a few classes at the local community college and I’m going to get the technical skills I am currently lacking so that I can finally pursue being my own boss and running my own web/graphic design business. I have had an idea of a small business creating and maintaining websites for local business and organizations however I lack the key part in the equation which is the skill of coding websites. I can create awesome kick ass graphics and website layouts but I can’t make them work for the life of me.

That’s where school comes in, I’ll take a few classes maybe get my web master’s certificate and then slowly but surely build a client base and go from there. In the mean time I’m loving my Etsy shop. Seriously, I look forward to coming home from my 9-5 day job and busting my ass making different invitation designs and announcements. I’ve even done a few fliers and handouts for my current employer. I love it. It keeps me going and even though I get frustrated designing at times because I don’t want to copy or have my designs look too similar to others. I can’t believe how at peace I am when I’m creating. Hours fly by and the next thing I know I have to go to bed so that I can wake up and go to my day job only to crave being in my own little craft room/studio cranking out designs.

So now that I have my passion back and a solid plan to reach my goal, I can’t wait till May 12th so I can finally enroll in my first class since I graduated last May. I never thought I would say I miss academia and learning, but I do and I miss it bad.

Back to my secret, I still have a few kinks to work out. Like ordering supplies, doing some trial runs and experimenting with other designs and elements but I will leave you with a quick teaser. Hopefully you won’t know what the heck it is.

Enjoy.

Cheers,

EA

Leave a Reply

