College Rant

Standard

 May 2010 I graduated college. Yes, this is a fact. I spent four years after high school furthering my higher education. I was the first in my family to go to a 4 year university and earn a degree higher than an associate’s. I worked really hard in college. So hard in fact that I never once went to a party, kick back, kegger, get together or social event. I went to class. I worked almost full time through my entire higher education. I did homework, reports, reading, and studied my face off. All so that I could reach the end, receive my Bachelor’s of Arts in Communication Digital Media- with honors. Yes, I earned a degree with honors. I must say I am still very proud of my accomplishment.

Now for those of you that are pretty miffed right now, thinking- “This bitch. Showing off and boasting about her knowledge. HA.” Honestly, that’s now that I’m going for  here. I am actually disappointed with the entire college experience. When you go to university there are two paths you can take- the social path (not to be confused with socio-path) or the straight and narrow, study path. I chose the latter. Not because I didn’t want to take the social path through college but because I have always been guided through schooling to get good grades. Constantly being told that in order to succeed in life you have to get good grades in college to get your degree and get a good job. Good grades= degree= success.

 In order to get those good grades I sacrificed partying, making friends, and over all making memories. I don’t have stories to tell my kids. I don’t have memories of drunken spring breaks in Cancun with my besties. Instead, I have a piece of paper (that I don’t even really have it’s at my parent’s house on their wall) saying that I made it through with good grades. Sure, some people may be thinking, “Why are you complaining?” I’m getting there. It’s because now that I’m out of college and I have my degree my life is still relatively the same as it was when I was in college, career wise. I still work at the same company I did in college and it is partially by choice but mostly because of college.

I have a degree but no experience in the field I studied. I have the experience and knowledge I gained in my course work, but none of it is real hands on. This makes it nearly impossible to get a career in what I want because that is the first thing they ask. “What experience do you have?” Ummmm none. I can tell you about theories that I learned. I can show you a mock campaign I created in class that I earned a 100% grade on, but I can’t show you companies I have worked for that have used these skills.

Overall, if I could do it over again, I would probably still go to college but I would do it completely differently. I would make friends and party. I wouldn’t work so much and I would have volunteered to do more internships. I would have made more networking connections, but it’s too late now. And I want others to learn from my mistakes. I’m hoping to go back to school so that I can get my “do over” and I hope you do it right the first time around.

Cheers,                                    

EA

Leave a Reply

